5 Ways on How to Delete the Facebook Account

The basic difference between deleting and deactivating your Facebook account is that you can always reactivate it later if you deactivate it, but if you want to know how to delete the facebook account permanently, including permanently being removed from the Facebook directory, all of your photos, posts, links, comments, and so on, and you’re concerned about your online privacy or simply want to disconnect from social media, there are few ways to do so. Let’s find out.

These are the steps to deactivate your Facebook account

  • Click on your account in the upper right corner of Facebook.
  • Go to Settings and Privacy, then Settings & Security.
  • Click on Your Facebook Information. If you have access to a Facebook page and are using the new Pages experience, click Privacy, then Your Facebook Information.
  • Click Deactivation and Deletion to deactivate.
  • Deactivate your account by clicking Continue to Account Deactivation after selecting the option.
how to delete the facebook account
facebook how to delete account

Here’s how to delete the Facebook account

  1. Click on your account in the upper right corner of Facebook.
  2. Choose Settings and Privacy, then Settings.
  3. Click Your Facebook Information. If you have access to a Facebook page and are using the new Pages experience, click Privacy, then Your Facebook Information.
  4. Select Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Select Delete to proceed to Account Deletion.
  6. Enter your password to delete your account and click the Delete Account button.

Given above are a few steps on how to delete the Facebook account.

Before deleting your account

  1. Make a backup of your data if you want a copy.
  2. Remove the app’s permissions.
  3. Remove all Facebook apps from your devices.
  4. Consider writing a deletion epitaph to inform friends of your death.
  5. Removing permissions makes it clear which apps use your Facebook account. These can then be fixed to prevent future access problems.

The procedure for deleting a Facebook account

For one month, your account will be ‘deactivated’, and then it will be permanently deleted. This answers your question of how do you delete from Facebook. You have plenty of time to reconsider.

Unless you want to cancel the deletion request, do not sign in to your account during this time. Don’t be duped into submitting a deactivation request. Deactivation does not imply deletion.

What happens to your information?

It is said that deleting your account deletes all of your Facebook data. In reality, it takes about 90 days. Your data may never truly be deleted. If you want a copy, backup your data before deleting it. Remove any sensitive content you may have posted. Inform your friends about the content you want to be removed.

Your Facebook archives contain nearly all the relevant information about your account, such as photos, active sessions, chat history, IP addresses, facial recognition data, and which ads you clicked, for example. That’s a lot of personal information you should probably keep on hand.

This is how to download your archive:

Click the down arrow in the up-right corner.

  1. Navigate to Settings and Privacy > Settings.
  2. Select Your Facebook Information from the left-hand column.
  3. Locate and click on Download Your Information in the centre.
  4. You have arrived at the Downloads page. You can choose which information to download. There are drop-down lists near the top of the page, under Select file options, that allow you to create a date range and select high, medium, or low media quality.

When you’re finished, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Request a download button. When your file is ready, you will be notified via email, and it will be available for a few days.

The company notes that termination is delayed for a few days after it is requested. If you return to the site during that time, your deletion request will be cancelled. So don’t sign up or you’ll be forced to restart the process. Certain things, such as comments you left on a friend’s post, may remain visible even after you delete your account.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here